AIJA Council and Committees

The AIJA Council consists of a total of 30 elected and appointed representatives from the judiciary, tribunals, court administrators, the legal profession, government service and academia. Council members take a very active role in the Institute's affairs - chairing committee and working parties, and providing direct assistance with the planning and development of both the education and research programmes. Click here to see a list of current members of the AIJA Council.

The AIJA has 4 Standing Committees:

  • a Membership and Communications Committee - to promote the utility of the Institute to its existing members and potential members;
  • an Education Committee - to develop proposals for educational activities to be undertaken by the AIJA and to make recommendations to Council for as to the AIJA's policy in relation to its educational activities;
  • a Research Committee - to develop proposals for advanced AIJA research into matters of judicial administration and supervise research projects conduct by the Institute;
  • an Indigenous Justice Committee - to promote excellence in the administration of justice in relation to Indigenous people throughout Australia, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea and the surrounding region.
Click here for AIJA Rules